Programme 2019/20 Print
Written by John Snoad   
Friday, 16 August 2019 00:00

alt

We do not meet on evenings
when the Concert Club takes place 

Meetings in 2019

WELCOME

Wednesday 18th September at 7.45pm
CONTRAST
Including Schumann, Pärt & Saint Saëns
David Pyett  

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 25th September at 7.45pm
VIENNA with and without the STRAUSS FAMILY
Chris Bryon

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 2nd October at 7.45pm
RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS
A jewel in England’s crown
Hazel Shandor-Hatfield

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 16th October at 7.45pm

President’s Evening

BERLIOZ 1803-1869
150 years on
Martin Binks, M.B.E.
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 23rd October at 7.45pm
MITISLAV ROSTROPOVICH
The Indomitable Bow
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 30th October at 7.45pm
MUSIC FOR PLEASURE
Bach, Saint Saëns & Tchaikovsky
Geoff Finnerty

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 13th November at 7.45pm
DO LET'S ASK FOR THE MOON
Sue Parker
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 20th November at 7.45pm
A TRIBUTE TO RICHARD RODNEY BENNETT
Barbara Satterthwaite

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 20th November at 7.45pm
PURCELL MUSIC FOR A WHILE
Geoff Finnerty

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 11th December at 7.45pm
LE BAYADÈRE
A ballet by Leon Minkus
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

* * * * * * * * * *

Meetings in 2020

Wednesday 8th January at 7.45pm
RESPONSES TO THE WALTZ
Chris Skidmore
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 22nd January at 7.45pm
SALZBURG TO VIENNA WITH A STOP
Vivaldi, Bruckner & Mozart
Catherine Clarke

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 29th January at 7.45pm
 IMPRESSIONISM ...  A PRETTY PICTURE
John Anderson
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 5th February at 7.45pm
GRIEG: CELLO SONATA
SHOSTAKOVICH: PIANO QUINTET
Martha Argerich
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 19th February at 7.45pm
RUSSIAN MUSIC FOR THE BALLET
Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky & Stravinsky
Richard Cadwallader

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 26th February at 7.45pm
KEEPING IT IN THE FAMILY
Pip Cowling

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 11th March at 7.45pm
HAYDEN IN THE 1790s
Dr David Vickers
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 18th March at 7.45pm
PUCCINI: EXCERPTS FROM TURANDOT
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 25th March at 7.45pm
The CHORALE in SYMPHONIC MUSIC
Professor Brian Newbould
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 8th April at 7.45pm
MEMBRS' CHOICE
Catherine Clarke

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 22nd April at 7.45pm
AN EXPLORATION OF GUSTAV HOLST
Nigel Simeone
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 29th April at 7.30pm
ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING
followed by
BACH: A COFFEE CANTATA

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 6th May at 7.45pm
MOZART: PIANO CONCERTO No.23
SIBELIUS: SYMPHONY No.5
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

Our last meeting of the season

* * * * * * * * * *

 

 

 

Last Updated on Friday, 16 August 2019 10:07