Home Programme 2017/18
Programme 2017/18 PDF Print E-mail

HeaderIkon_74.png


We do not meet on evenings
when the Concert Club takes place


Meetings in 2017


WELCOME

Wednesday 20th September at 7.45pm

LOCAL COMPOSERS
Butterworth, Cooke & Delius
David Pyett

 * * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 27th September at 7.45pm

MUSIC IN CHOPIN'S TIME
Szymanowska & Chopin
John Snoad

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 4th October at 7.45pm
President’s Evening
HAYDN: FATHER OF THE SYMPHONY?
Martin Binks, M.B.E.

* * * * * * * * * *

Saturday 7th October
YORKSHIRE REGIONAL GROUP MEETING
New North Road Baptist Church, Huddersfield

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 18th October at 7.45pm
BEYOND BELSHAZZAR - EXPLORING WILLIAM WALTON
Nigel Simeone
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 25th October at 7.45pm

DOWN WITH MUSIC!
Hazel Shandor-Hatfield

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 1st November
VERDI'S AIDA
(highlights)
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 15th November at 7.45pm
JOURNEY INTO JAZZ
Christine Byron
AND BEYOND
Catherine Clarke

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 22nd November at 7.45pm
ELGAR: A COMPARISON OF THE VIOLIN
AND
CELLO CONCERTOS
Sue Parker
Visiting Speaker
Supported by Ilkley and District Arts Federation

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 29th November at 7.45pm
MEMBERS' CHOICE
Caroline Moseley

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 6th December at 7.45pm
A BALLET GALA PERFORMANCE
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

* * * * * * * * * *


Meetings in 2018

 

Wednesday 3rd January at 7.45pm
THREE  MORE WOMEN OF NOTE
Barbara Satterthwaite

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 17th January at 7.45pm
JOHN CHRISTIAN BACH
THE COSMOPOLITAN BLACK SHEEP
Dr David Vickers
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 24th January at 7.45pm

SILK AND BAMBOO FROM CHINA
Chris Pacsoo

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 31st January at 7.45pm
THE ARGO STORY
Geoff Bateman
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 7th February at 7.45pm
PASSION AND CONSOLATION
Verdi & Beethoven
Pip Cowling

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 21st February
BERLIOZ: SUCCESS AND FAILURE
ON THE STAGE
Jim Gilmour

* * * * * * * * * *

Saturday 24th February at

7.30pm

SOCIAL EVENING
at 77 Moor Park Drive, Addingham

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 28th February at 7.45pm
QUARTETS AND QUINTETS
including
HAYDN & MOZART
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 7th March at 7.45pm
THE INCOMPARABLE
MARTHA ARGERICH
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 21st March
COLLECTING ON A BUDGET
Schubert, Brahms & Mahler
Chris Bryon

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 28th March at 7.45pm
THE ESSENCE OF RAVEL
Professor Brian Newbould
Visiting Speaker

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 18th April at 7.45pm
BBC 3 NEW GENERATION ARTISTS
Tchaikovsky, Korngold & Schubert
Richard Cadwallader

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 25th April at

7.30pm

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING
followed by
ELGAR: ENIGMA VARIATIONS

* * * * * * * * * *

Wednesday 9th May at 7.45pm
JUST BEETHOVEN
Violin Concerto
and
Symphony No.7
A ‘large screen’ Audio-Visual Presentation

Our last meeting of the season

* * * * * * * * * *